Mailbox Monday – November 19, 2012


According to the Mailbox Monday blog, “Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.”

Mailbox Monday is being hosted in November at Edgy Inspirational Romance. Click over to add your link and check out other bloggers’ mailboxes!


Cascade by Maryanne O’Hara – Review copy for book tour with TLC Book Tours

Goodreads blurb: 1935: Desdemona Hart Spaulding was an up-and-coming Boston artist when she married in haste and settled in the small, once-fashionable theater town of Cascade to provide a home for her dying father. Now Cascade is on the short list to be flooded to provide water for Boston, and Dez’s discontent is complicated by her growing attraction to a fellow artist. When tragic events unfold, Dez is forced to make difficult choices. Must she keep her promises? Is it morally possible to set herself free?

Fans of Richard Russo, Amor Towles, Sebastian Barry, and Paula McLain will devour this transporting novel about the eternal tug between our duties and our desires, set within the context of the Depression, NYC during Roosevelt’s New Deal era, and the approaching World War.


The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin – ARC from the publisher

Goodreads blurb: For much of her life, Anne Morrow, the shy daughter of the U.S. ambassador to Mexico, has stood in the shadows of those around her, including her millionaire father and vibrant older sister, who often steals the spotlight. Then Anne, a college senior with hidden literary aspirations, travels to Mexico City to spend Christmas with her family. There she meets Colonel Charles Lindbergh, fresh off his celebrated 1927 solo flight across the Atlantic. Enthralled by Charles’s assurance and fame, Anne is certain the celebrated aviator has scarcely noticed her. But she is wrong.

Charles sees in Anne a kindred spirit, a fellow adventurer, and her world will be changed forever. The two marry in a headline-making wedding. Hounded by adoring crowds and hunted by an insatiable press, Charles shields himself and his new bride from prying eyes, leaving Anne to feel her life falling back into the shadows. In the years that follow, despite her own major achievements—she becomes the first licensed female glider pilot in the United States—Anne is viewed merely as the aviator’s wife. The fairy-tale life she once longed for will bring heartbreak and hardships, ultimately pushing her to reconcile her need for love and her desire for independence, and to embrace, at last, life’s infinite possibilities for change and happiness.

Any new books in your house this week?

This entry was posted in memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mailbox Monday – November 19, 2012

  1. Sandy
    Twitter: youvegottaread
    says:

    I remember some buzz about The Aviator’s Wife. Hmmm.
    Sandy´s last post ..Monday Matinee: The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012)

    • CarrieK
      Twitter: booksandmovies
      says:

      Sandy – I adored her last two: Alice I Have Been and The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb. She knows how to take a historical figure and make them come alive – so excited for this one!

  2. Melissa
    Twitter: myeclecticbooks
    says:

    The Aviators Wife looks interesting…I’m going to have to look into the reviews of that one! Enjoy!

    My Added to the Bookshelf post!
    Melissa´s last post ..Book Review & Giveaway: The Warlock’s Curse

  3. bermudaonion(Kathy)
    Twitter: bermudaonion
    says:

    Those book look wonderful to me! Enjoy!
    bermudaonion(Kathy)´s last post ..Mailbox Monday

  4. Michelle says:

    Oooo! I have The Aviator’s Wife from Edelweiss. I cannot wait to get to it! I somehow missed Cascade. I really like the idea of reading about the Depression era away from the western states and from big cities.

  5. Marg
    Twitter: MargReads
    says:

    I do love the cover of Aviator’s Wife!

    Enjoy your books.
    Marg´s last post ..Spotlight on Escape Publishing

  6. Beth F
    Twitter: BethFishReads
    says:

    The Aviator’s Wife looks good. And thanks for joining in What’s in a Name. Have fun & good luck.
    Beth F´s last post ..What’s in a Name 6: Sign Up

  7. I have both Cascade (won it) and The Aviator’s Wife (an ARC). I can’t wait to read them! Cascade got wonderful reviews in People magazine. The Aviator’s Wife is right up my alley too….and I know we shouldn’t judge a book by their cover…but I LOVE The Aviator’s Wife cover!!!! :) I just know the book is going to be great. ha-ha

    Happy Thanksgiving….have been cooking and cleaning all day getting ready for the big day. :)
    Beverly Sizemore´s last post ..World Card Making Day Trend Challenge Card

  8. Susan says:

    The Aviator’s Wife has perked my interest. Hadn’t heard about it. thanks!
    Susan´s last post ..Lincoln

  9. Kailana says:

    I am looking forward to The Aviator’s Wife!!
    Kailana´s last post ..Saturday Snapshot – November 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge